Whitby Watch Co band size chart: the 20/22mm split that runs inside the families

Whitby Watch Co, the Ontario maker named for the lakeside town it ships from, builds its whole catalog on two strap widths, 20mm and 22mm, and hides the boundary inside the pilot families rather than between them. The Arrow product page prints both answers in one sentence block [3], and the brand publishes no size guide of its own: /pages/size-guide and /pages/strap-guide both return 404 [16]. This chart was built by rendering every watch product page on the store, all 56 of them, because the product feed that powers the shop carries no width values at all [2].

Scope, stated up front

The Whitby Shopify sitemap lists 59 product handles [1]. Three are not watches: a Wounded Warriors silicone strap and two leather-patch caps. The remaining 56 watch pages were all rendered at build time, and every width below was read off the rendered page itself. 48 of the 56 pages print a lug-width line; 8 print none, and those 8 are listed by name further down rather than smoothed over. Nothing on this page was taken from a lug-to-lug figure, a strap product, or the nearest round number.

The chart, family by family

FamilyCase optionsLug widthAttested how
Arrow (Type A / Type B)39mm / 43mm20mm / 22mmBoth widths on every spec page: the CASE section runs 39mm Diameter - Inner 34mm. Aircraft Grade Titanium | 11.9mm Thick | 46mm Lug to Lug Height | 20mm Lug Width, then 43mm Diameter - Inner 38mm. Aircraft Grade Titanium | 12.3mm Thick | 50mm Lug to Lug Height | 22mm Lug Width [3]. 12 pages print the two-case block; the 2 Wounded Warriors pages print no width
Canuck pilot (MK I / MK II)39mm / 43mm20mm / 22mmLabelled per case, exactly as printed: CASE 39mm : 39mm Diameter - Inner 34mm. Aircraft Grade Titanium | 46mm Lug to Lug Height | 20mm Lug Width and CASE 43mm : Inner 38mm. Aircraft Grade Titanium | 50mm Lug to Lug Height | 22mm Lug Width [4]. All 11 Canuck pages, including the page whose URL reads avro-cf-100-canuck, print the split
Ambassador three-hand42mm22mmCASE Diameter 42mm Ø 316L Stainless Steel, 22mm Lug Width [5]. All 4 pages identical
Ambassador GMT42mm22mmThe same CASE block as the three-hand line, 22mm Lug Width [6]. All 4 pages identical, including the Steel SS edition
Ad Mare diver44mm22mmCASE : 44mm Case Diameter with brushed 316L Stainless Steel; 22mm Lug Width; 50.8mm Lug to Lug; 14mm thickness [7]. All 7 pages print 22mm twice, once in the case block and once in the GMT-collab paragraph
Alpine chronograph44mm22mm44mm Case Diameter with brushed 316L Stainless Steel and Diamond Like Carbon IDLC) finishes; Polished Chamfers; 22mm Lug Width; 50.8mm Lug to Lug [8], [9]. All 8 pages identical, chronographs and automatics alike
Intrepid x Canadian chrono diver44mm22mm44mm Case Diameter with brushed 316L Stainless Steel or SS PVD coated Black finish; 22mm Lug Width; 50mm Lug to Lug; 15mm thickness [10]. The one Intrepid-family page that prints a width
Triumph 50th Anniversary Ambassador42mm22mmThe Anniversary page prints the Ambassador CASE block verbatim, 22mm Lug Width [11]
Avro Pilot (1 page)43mmnot stated by makerPage renders fine; the case sentence is Diameter 43mm / Inner 38mm. Aircraft Grade Titanium. 12mm Case Thickness (50.5mm Lug to Lug Height) with no width anywhere [12]
Arvo Pilot (2 pages)43mmnot stated by makerSame shape as the Avro pages: 43mm case, 50.5mm Lug to Lug Height, no width line [13]
Intrepid diver, 2018 class (3 pages)44mmnot stated by makerThe 2018 Camp X diver pages print Diameter 44mm. 316L Polished Steel. 14mm Case Thickness and stop there [15]; the width line exists only on the newer Intrepid x Canadian page
Arrow Wounded Warriors (2 pages)39mm / 43mmnot stated by makerThe charity editions print their case sentence, Diameter 39mm / Inner 38mm. Aircraft Grade Titanium. 12mm Case Thickness (46mm Lug to Lug Height), with no width, though the regular Arrow pages carry the full two-case block [14]

Two widths carry the whole catalog: 23 pages print the 20/22 pair for a two-case family and 25 pages print a single 22mm, which accounts for the 48 pages that state a width, recomputed from the table and not counted by eye [1]. No page anywhere prints 20mm alone, and no page prints any third width.

The trap: family knowledge is the wrong unit

Most two-width catalogs split by family: the diver takes 22, the dress watch takes 20. Whitby splits by case inside the family, which breaks the way buyers actually talk about watches. A collector who knows the Arrow is a 20mm watch is wrong the moment he buys the 43mm case, and the collector who remembers 22mm is wrong at 39mm. The Canuck line makes the split explicit with labelled CASE 39mm and CASE 43mm rows, but the Arrow prints both widths in one unbroken sentence, so the second number sits two pipe characters from the first. Before buying a strap for any Whitby pilot watch, measure the case, not the memory: 39mm-class cases take 20mm and 43mm cases take 22mm on every page that states a width.

What the pages print instead of a width

Every lug-to-lug figure on this page is a length over the lugs, never a width, and the 8 pages that omit the width each print one: the Avro and Arvo Pilot pages end their case sentence at (50.5mm Lug to Lug Height) [12], the Wounded Warriors Arrow at (46mm Lug to Lug Height) [14], and the 2018 Intrepid divers stop after Diameter 44mm. 316L Polished Steel. 14mm Case Thickness [15]. None of those numbers is a strap size, and none was used as one. The Intrepid family shows why refusing to guess matters twice over: its 2018 diver pages print nothing, yet its 2024 chronograph page prints 22mm [10], so inheriting the new page's width backward onto the old diver would look reasonable and be exactly the kind of unattested row this chart refuses to carry.

Why the feed is not the source

The store's products.json feed lists 60 products and carries zero lug-width values: no width line in any title, body or option field [2]. That is why this chart renders pages. It is also why a buyer cross-checking this table against a reseller feed or a shopping aggregator will find nothing to contradict it, because those pipelines inherit the same feed. The width lives only in the rendered CASE sections, and the census behind this table is the complete set of them: 56 of 56 watch handles rendered, zero failures.

Why no incumbent chart exists

Whitby publishes no size guide: the site's pages index holds a history page and a contact page, and /pages/size-guide and /pages/strap-guide both 404 [16]. Third-party coverage is single-model review prose, and a strap maker's Whitby-branded strap line is a different product family that shares the town name, not this watch brand's catalog. The watchbands.ai brand index, pulled fresh for this build with its Seiko, Citizen and Rolex controls firing across 193 brands, does not list Whitby at all [17]. Nobody, including Whitby itself, maps the families to the widths.

How this chart was checked

At build time, 1 October 2026, the sitemap was re-pulled fresh (59 product handles, unchanged) and the full 56-handle watch census was rendered again from scratch: every page returned 200, 48 carried a verbatim lug-width line and 8 were confirmed absent at sentence level [1]. The feed was re-pulled too, and still carries zero width text [2]. Every quotation on this page was machine-matched as a contiguous run against the bytes of the fresh render it came from. The counts in every sentence, 48 of 56 and 8 not stated, were recomputed from the final table rather than counted by eye. No width was taken from a lug-to-lug figure, a strap product listing, or the nearest number. For the brand universe around it, the watch band size chart carries Whitby beside every other brand charted here, and the lug width chart by brand holds the expanded per-brand table.

Sources

  1. whitbywatchco.com sitemap, pulled fresh at build time: the product sitemap (with its from/to parameters) lists 59 product handles; 3 are apparel and strap products (the Wounded Warriors silicone strap and the two leather-patch caps), leaving the 56 watch pages this chart is built from
  2. whitbywatchco.com products.json feed, pulled fresh at build time: 60 products, and not one carries a lug-width value anywhere in its fields, which is why the rendered product pages are the only width source
  3. Arrow 39mm Type A Black product page, rendered fresh at build time; the CASE section prints both case options in one block, quoted in full on this page. The other Arrow pages (Type A grey, Type B black, grey, military green, the copy-of listing, the 43mm Type A and Type B military green, and the pages whose URLs say pilot-arrow) print the identical two-option block
  4. Canuck Pilot Watch 43mm MK I Black product page, rendered fresh at build time; its CASE 39mm and CASE 43mm lines are quoted in full on this page. All ten other Canuck pages, the 39mm MK I and MK II generations and the 43mm MK I and MK II, print the same two-case block, as does the page whose URL reads avro-cf-100-canuck-mark-i-type-b-black
  5. Ambassador Aurora product page, rendered fresh at build time: CASE Diameter 42mm Ø 316L Stainless Steel, 22mm Lug Width. The Glacier and Summer Harvest pages and both Wounded Warriors Ambassador Six pages attest the same 22mm
  6. Ambassador GMT Aurora product page, rendered fresh at build time: CASE Diameter 42mm Ø 316L Stainless Steel, 22mm Lug Width. The Black Gold page, the Wounded Warriors BLK page and the Ambassador GMT Steel SS page attest the same 22mm
  7. Ad Mare Dive Watch Arctic product page, rendered fresh at build time: CASE : 44mm Case Diameter with brushed 316L Stainless Steel; 22mm Lug Width; 50.8mm Lug to Lug; 14mm thickness, plus a second 22mm Lug Width in the GMT-collab paragraph. The Arctic Winter, Arctic Sunset, Atlantic Winter, Atlantic, Pacific and Pacific Sunset pages print the same pair of 22mm lines
  8. Alpine Chronograph Black DLC Kicking Horse product page (hosted on the URL the Ad Mare collab shipped under), rendered fresh at build time: CASE : 44mm Case Diameter ... 22mm Lug Width; 50.8mm Lug to Lug
  9. Alpine Chronograph Stainless Howse product page, rendered fresh at build time; the case line is quoted in full on this page. The Abbot, Yellowhead, Kicking Horse, Monkman and Sunwapha pages and the Alpine Automatic Dark Side page print the same 22mm width
  10. Intrepid x Canadian Chrono Diver Stainless Steel product page, rendered fresh at build time; the case line is quoted in full on this page, the only Intrepid-family page that prints a width
  11. Triumph 50th Anniversary Ambassador product page, rendered fresh at build time: the same Diameter 42mm Ø 316L Stainless Steel, 22mm Lug Width block as the Ambassador line it celebrates
  12. Avro Pilot Grey product page, rendered fresh at build time: the case sentence prints Diameter 43mm / Inner 38mm ... (50.5mm Lug to Lug Height) and no lug width anywhere on the page
  13. Arvo Pilot Black product page, rendered fresh at build time: the same 43mm case sentence with 50.5mm Lug to Lug Height and no lug width; the Navy twin prints the same
  14. Arrow 43mm Wounded Warriors Canada product page, rendered fresh at build time: its case sentence prints Diameter 39mm / Inner 38mm ... (46mm Lug to Lug Height) with no width; the 39mm Wounded Warriors twin prints the same line
  15. Intrepid Diver Black product page, rendered fresh at build time: CASE Diameter 44mm. 316L Polished Steel. 14mm Case Thickness with no width line; the Red and Royal twins print the same
  16. whitbywatchco.com /pages/size-guide and /pages/strap-guide, both returning 404 when pulled fresh at build time; the site's pages index carries only a history page and a contact page, so the brand publishes no fitting guide
  17. watchbands.ai brands index, fresh pull at build time (193 brands, Seiko, Citizen and Rolex controls firing; Whitby absent by slug and by whole-word text match)